RSS Feed

The Burbs of Minneapolis

The Burbs of Minneapolis

Decided to try a local restaurant near home over the weekend. I had been putting it off because it would be a spendy expedition. Made my reservation . . . just in case. Turns out that wasn’t necessary!

Jensen’s Food & Cocktails was the destination in a suburb of the Twin Cities called Eagan. The restaurant is billed as “the premier casual dining choice for lunch and dinner offering classic steak and seafood dishes plus beer, specialty martinis and early-bird deals. . . .  We serve simple and flavorful interpretations that inspire and make dining memorable. . . We make most everything from scratch. . .”  Based on this description from their website I would never have fathomed what we actually were served!

I ordered the Grilled Chicken Breast: tender, juicy & marinated in classic Italian dressing for $15. Each entree comes with unlimited popovers with a nice whipped honey butter and a salad. I could have eaten just the popovers and been fine! That’s it . . .that’s all you get unless you want to add a side to you entree that supposedly serves 2-3 people. The least expensive side is a loaded baked potato for $5. I stuck with just the chicken, saved my salad to have with my chicken and made my own complete entree.chicken

My husband decided to go with the 14 0z New York Strip: center cut strip aged and marbled to perfection. Even this did not come with any sides for $38 no less! He got the loaded baked potato and it was enough just for him not for 2-3 people!steak

Thank goodness I had gotten a gift card to use. I am in no rush to go back there anytime soon (unless I can purchase ONLY the popovers!). It was ok but for Fine Dining I guess I expected a little more “WOW”.

About littlecafereview

Because I have the opportunity to fly as often as I would like I have found some really good places to visit and have a bite to eat. It's all about finding what you like to do and having fun doing it!

Leave a Reply

